USA, Brazil and 18 other countries sign a declaration to contain the migration crisis

United States, Brazil and more 18 countries of the American continent, including Mexico and several Central American nations, joined this Friday (10) to a declaration with concrete commitments to contain the migration crisis in the region.

The signing ceremony of the so-called Los Angeles Declaration on Migration and Protection was conducted by US President Joe Biden during the last day of the 9th Summit of the Americas, which brings together leaders from across the continent in Los Angeles.

“No nation should assume this responsibility alone”, said Biden, who highlighted that not only irregular immigration to the US is increasing, but that millions of Venezuelans have arrived in Colombia and that immigrants now represent “10% of the population of Costa Rica”.

For relieving the pressure generated by these flows, the signatory countries committed, among other things, to expanding the opportunities to migrate legally in order to contain the arrival of immigrants. undocumented numbers on the southern border of the United States, which continues to increase.

“We need to stop the dangerous and illegal ways in which people are migrating. Illegal immigration is not acceptable, and we are going to protect our borders,” said Biden.

The United States has promised to increase its quota of refugees from the Americas by up to 20 to 2023 and 2024, with special priority for those from Haiti, as well as continuing to accept temporary non-agricultural workers from Central America and preventing “abuses” in their hiring.

The declaration was signed by the United States, Brazil, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay .

Among those who did not sign it, there are three countries of origin of many of the undocumented immigrants that cross the continent: Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua, which the US government decided not to invite to the Summit of Americas for considering that they are not democratic.

Biden particularly thanked the commitments made by Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Guatemala mala, Canada and Spain, a country that participated in the summit as an observer, represented by the Secretary of State for International Cooperation, Pilar Cancela.

Spain has committed to doubling the number of legal channels for Honduran workers to participate of circular migration programs in Spain, according to the White House.

Ecuadorian President Guillermo Lasso also spoke at the event, emphasizing the need to promote “an integral development agenda that has the human being in the center.”

“It is urgent to promote opportunities for development in the countries of origin, on the one hand, and on the other, to promote actions to identify and dismantle the international mafias that control irregular immigration”, he stressed. .

Back to top button