Russia includes several White House officials in new sanctions list

O presidente Joe Biden está entre os americanos proibidos de entrar na Rússia
President Joe Biden is among Americans banned from entering Russia| Photo: EFE/EPA/WILL OLIVER

Russia on Monday expanded the list of U.S. citizens permanently barred from entering the country to include several high-ranking officials from the White House, military officers, businessmen and managers of state-owned companies in the United States.

With the new additions as reported by the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in a statement, there are already more than a thousand Americans who cannot travel to Russian territory.17195108

The purpose of the new list is to respond to the sanctions adopted by Washington against Russian politicians and personalities due to the current military campaign in Ukraine.17195108

Furthermore, Moscow intends to punish Americans who denounced alleged Russian cyberattacks with false information.

17195108Among the au Sanctioned authorities are US Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm; the Treasury Secretary, Janet Yellen, and the director of the National Economic Council of the White House, Brian Deese, among others.

In addition, the new list includes entrepreneurs such as the former director of Delta Airlines, Edward Bastian; officers such as Admiral James Winnefeld, former head of the Aerospace Defense Command (Norad); Universal Pictures president Peter Kramer and Netflix co-founder Reed Hastings.

In mid-May, Moscow had already banned US President Joe Biden and others from entering the country 1280 US citizens in response to Washington’s sanctions in retaliation for the so-called Russian “special military operation” in Ukraine.

O presidente Joe Biden está entre os americanos proibidos de entrar na Rússia The initial list also included the names of Biden’s son, Hunter; Secretary of State Antony Blinken; Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin and CIA Director William Burns.17195108

Back to top button