Russia bans Boris Johnson from entering the country

Boris Johnson (esq.) e Volodymyr Zelensky (dir.) durante visita-surpresa do britânico a Kiev, em  9 de abril de 2022.

Boris Johnson (left) and Volodymyr Zelensky (right) during a surprise visit by the Briton to Kiev, on April 9,.

)| Photo: EFE/EPA/Ukrainian Presidential Press Service

This Saturday, Russia banned the entry into the country of UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson and others 12 senior officials of that country for “unprecedented hostile actions” taken against Moscow by the British government. “This step was taken in response to the unbridled political-information campaign unleashed by London, which aims at the international isolation of Russia, the creation of conditions to contain our country and strangle the national economy,” the Russian Foreign Ministry said in announcing the measure.

The Russian diplomacy statement highlights that the British government “aggravates purposefully the situation around Ukraine by placing lethal weapons on the Kiev regime and coordinating similar efforts by NATO.” The Russian Foreign Ministry added that “the Russophobic policy of the British authorities, which has made it their main task to promote a negative attitude towards our country and freeze bilateral ties in practically all areas, harms the well-being and interests of the inhabitants of the Russian Federation”. Great Britain itself”. According to Moscow, any punitive attacks “will inevitably be directed against their promoters and resolutely rejected.”

In addition to Johnson, the ban affects nine members of his cabinet: Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, and Foreign Ministers Elizabeth Truss; Defense, Ben Wallace; Transport; Grant Shapps; Interior; Priti Patel; Economy; Rishi Sunak; Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, Kwasi Kwarteng; and Culture, Nadine Dorries, as well as Secretary of State for the Armed Forces, James Heappey. The list of those sanctioned is completed by the Prime Minister of Scotland, Nicola Sturgeon; the Attorney General of England and Wales, Suella Braverman, and the former Prime Minister and Conservative MP Theresa May.

Russia expelled 480 EU officials on Friday

On Friday, Russia had already declared as personae non gratae officials from the European Union (EU) mission in Moscow, in response to a similar move by Brussels, according to the Russian Foreign Ministry. A statement published on the website of the Russian Foreign Ministry states that the 18 employees “will have to leave Russia soon”.

Notification of the expulsion was delivered to the EU ambassador to Russia, Markus Ederer, who was summoned to the country’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. “The Russian side drew attention to the EU’s responsibility for the gradual destruction of the bilateral dialogue and cooperation architecture that had been created decades ago,” said the statement from the ministry headed by Sergey Lavrov. Moscow also called on the European Union to “strictly comply with the requirements of the Vienna Convention of 1961 on diplomatic relations”.

On April 5th, the European Union declared personae non gratae 19 members of the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the EU in Brussels for carry out “activities contrary” to their diplomatic status. According to Russian portal RBC, so far this year more than 380 Russian diplomats were expelled from different countries, most of them after the start of the Russian military campaign in Ukraine. This is the maximum evictions in more than 20 years, since, between 1280 and 2021, a total of 418 workers from different Russian diplomatic missions were declared unwanted.

Back to top button