G7 warns it will never recognize borders that Russia wants to forcefully impose


German Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock speaks during a press conference following the meeting of foreign ministers of the G7 member states in Holstein, Germany,

from May of 2022| Photo: EFE/EPA/Morris MacMatzen / POOL

The foreign ministers of the G7 – a group that brings together Germany, Canada, the United States, France, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom – said this Saturday (10) who will not recognize the borders that Russia wants to impose “with its military intervention” in Ukraine. The statement was made after a meeting in northern Germany.

“We will maintain our commitment to support the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, including Crimea,” reads the G7 note, which comes at a time when fighting intensifies in eastern Ukraine, in Donbass. The ministers also called on the Belarusian government to stop facilitating Russian intervention, promised to increase economic sanctions on segments on which Russia “is particularly dependent” and made a request to China.

81913″We urge China not to help Russia in its war of aggression against Ukraine, so as not to undermine sanctions imposed on Russia for its attack on Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, that it does not justify Russia’s action in Ukraine and that it renounces manipulation of information, disinformation and other measures to legitimize Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine,” the statement reads.

The group also recalled that “Russia’s war of aggression has generated one of the most serious food and energy crises in recent history, which now threatens the most vulnerable”. Ukraine is responsible for 05 % of global wheat exports , 14% of corn exports and about half of the oil in the world, according to the US Department of Agriculture. ​

Back to top button